Canadian CitizenshipComprehensive Ranking SystemExpress EntryFederal Skilled WorkersInvitation to ApplyLife in CanadaProvincial Nomination ProgramJuly 5, 2022by Prominent OverseasCanada’s immigration minister confirmed that Express Entry draws will return to normal this Wednesday

FSWP and CEC candidates will be invited again beginning on Wednesday. We address some of the most frequently asked questions regarding Express Entry and how it works.


Canada’s Immigration Minister, Sean Fraser, has now announced on Twitter that Express Entry draws for all programmes will restart on Wednesday, July 6, after an 18-month suspension.

Since December 2020, draws for the Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP) and the Federal Skilled Trades Program (FSTP) have been paused. The Canadian Experience Class (CEC) drawings have been postponed until September 2021.

After border closures and limitations caused by the COVID-19 epidemic generated a backlog in the number of applications for permanent residence status, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) instituted these holds.

This page will attempt to answer some of your queries concerning Canada’s Express Entry application management system.


What is Express Entry?

IRCC uses Express Entry, an application management system, to identify individuals who it believes are best suited to live and work in Canada.

They are called economic immigrants since they are of working age and will be able to establish themselves economically in Canada while contributing to the labour force and economy.

These applicants may normally expect a speedier processing period than those who apply through other schemes, such as family sponsorship or as a refugee or humanitarian class immigrant.


How does Express Entry work?

For each of its programmes, the Express Entry system establishes a baseline of eligibility, and individuals must fulfil particular requirements to apply.

The first stage is for an applicant to determine whether or not they are eligible for an Express Entry programme. If an applicant passes the qualifying requirements, they must create a profile on the IRCC website.

Once a profile is completed, IRCC will provide a score to the candidate based on the Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS). The CRS assigns points based on characteristics such as employment, job experience, education, and language.

Candidates with the highest marks are more likely to be invited to apply (ITA).

After receiving an ITA, an applicant has 60 days to make an application for permanent residency. Beginning in July, IRCC plans to reinstate a six-month pre-pandemic processing norm.

What programmes are included in Express Entry?

Express Entry includes three distinct programmes for qualified applicants with varying levels of work experience, language and education requirements, and NOC skill codes.


Program for Federal Skilled Workers

The Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP) is designed for skilled employees with expertise in occupations classified as NOC skill categories 0, A, or B. Candidates must have:

  • Over the past ten years, you must have had at least one year of full-time or comparable paid job experience.
  • Language ability in English or French comparable to Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) 7.
  • A Canadian or international educational credential (certificate, diploma, or degree) plus an Educational Credential Assessment (ECA) report.
  • Show that they have enough money to maintain themselves and any dependents in Canada.
  • At least 67 points out of 100 on the FWSP grid, which is based on characteristics such as age, education, and job experience.
Federal Skilled Trades Training Program

The Federal Skilled Trades Program (FSTP) is only for people with skilled trades expertise. In a few instances, the qualifying conditions differ from FSWP:

  • Candidates must have either two years of full-time work experience in their profession or five years of comparable part-time work experience.
  • They must have a full-time, ongoing employment offer or a qualification certificate from a Canadian body.
  • A CLB of 5 for speaking and listening and 4 for reading and writing in English or French.


Class for Canadian Experience

The Canadian Experience Class (CEC) is intended for individuals who have already lived and worked in Canada.

  • Candidates must have completed one full year of skilled job experience in Canada within the previous three years.
  • Language requirements may differ depending on the candidate’s NOC categorization. A CLB of 7 is required for those whose occupation falls under NOC 0 or A. Skilled crafts occupations, or those classified as NOC B, require a CLB 5.
  • Candidates must intend to live and work in a location other than Quebec.
(Image Source:- Google)


What exactly is an all-program draw?

Candidates are chosen from the whole Express Entry pool, regardless of which programme they are eligible for, in an all-program lottery. Their CRS score is the only decisive element.

During the epidemic, Express Entry programme drawings were sometimes limited to one programme each draw.

How long does it take to become a permanent resident through Express Entry?

Sean Fraser, the Minister of Immigration, has stated that all new Express Entry applications will be handled within six months. This means that after receiving an ITA and submitting an application, a candidate will not have to wait more than six months to find out if they have been approved for permanent residence.

How many immigrants will be allowed through Express Entry during the next three years?

According to the Immigration Levels Plan 2022-2024, Canada will accept more than 110,000 new Express Entry immigrants and award them permanent residency status by 2024.

What effect will the TEER adjustment have on Express Entry?

Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC) will adopt a redesigned system that will replace the present NOC system in November 2022.

There are five NOC categorization levels: 0, A, B, C, and D. The Training, Education, Experience, and Responsibilities (TEER) system functions in the same way, with each TEER indicating a level of abilities and experience for each vocation. There are six TEERS, ranging from 0 (management jobs) to 5. (Little work experience or formal education).

Sixteen new jobs will be eligible for Express Entry under the TEER system, while three have been withdrawn.

What impact will Ministerial Instructions have on Express Entry?

The Canadian government enacted legislation on June 24 that will empower the IRCC to invite applicants based on in-demand criteria. Details are still emerging, but the federal government has stated that characteristics such as jobs and specific language abilities may be considered when determining which individuals would obtain an ITA.

What may Express Entry applicants expect in the future?

Immigration Minister Sean Fraser has pledged significant investments in contemporary technology as well as the hiring of extra workers to expedite the process. Prime Minister Trudeau recently announced the formation of a new task group to assess government services such as immigration applications and passports in order to enhance the quality and speed of service.


Check your Eligibility for CANADA Express Entry